East Coast of Scotland complete

I’m writing this from the departure lounge of Inverness airport where I’m waiting for the Easyjet to the glamorous Luton airport. But I’ve reached an important milestone on this trip having reached John o Groats and in fact a place called Gills Bay just west of there which has a ferry terminal but little else. It’s been a great few days walking with some truly stunning scenery. As usual route finding has been tricky, sometimes having to walk along the A9 sometimes finding a lovely unsigned and unmapped cliff path marked with nothing more than white topped fence posts. But I’ve now reached the milestone of walking the entire east coast of Scotland. Later this year I should complete the entire east coast of Britain as I have a small gap of about 30 miles to finish in England. I’m planning another couple of trips to Scotland this year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to East Coast of Scotland complete

  1. Well done Jon! What an achievement. Must have been wonderful to stand in front of that famous signpost.

    • jcombe says:

      Thanks Ruth. Yes I was pleased to get there. I hadn’t heard especially good things about John O Groats, but it was better than I expected. It’s an odd sort of place, everyone is at the end of a journey whether a walking or a road one. A lot of people seem to assume anyone (like me) walking there with a rucksacks has just walked there from Lands End!

  2. snowgood says:

    Hello Jon, you can imagine I’d like to tackle the rest of the British coast as well. I’m guessing you’ve really enjoyed plodding around Scotland – I’ve never been that far north even in a car.

    • jcombe says:

      Yes it’s been a great walk. I’m also glad I did it this way round. From what I hear the west coast of Scotland is the most scenic so I think I may have saved the best until last!

  3. Anabel Marsh says:

    The west coast is definitely more scenic (said without a hint of bias of course) though the east is lovely too. I’m particularly fond of Fife. Thanks for visiting The Glasgow Gallivanter – found through Ruth’s blog I see. I look forward to reading about your coastal adventures too.

Leave a Reply

