59. Wembury to Warren Point (River Yealm)

March 2013

This is only a short walk to fill in the gap I left between Wembury and the River Yealm on the last walk. When I was next in the area, the Yealm ferry was not running (it does not run in the winter), so to fill the gap I did this short walk. I had already done another section of coast path earlier in the day and when I had finished that I drove round to Wembury to walk the remaining part of the coast path between Wembury and the River Yealm (Warren Point).

Wembury is not the easiest place to reach being reached only on unclassified roads. Thankfully it was well sign so I didn’t have any problems although I think I timed it badly, as the road from the village to the beach is single track and I seem to have timed it just as everyone is leaving, so have to stop at every passing place. This is probably because it has started raining. The car park here is a National Trust car park with an honesty box for payment (although members are free).

I like Wembury, it’s a pretty and unspoilt spot with the added interest of an island off the coast, Great Mew Stone. Wembury is actually a large village but most of it is situated a few hundred metres inland, so the coastal scene is dominated by the marine visitor centre (in an original building) and the church, a scene that has likely not changed much over the years.

Wembury

The coast path begins, as usual, with a climb. This passes along the coastal side of the pretty church and then another zig-zag path joins from the right, which heads up the coast from the other end of the car park. Just beyond this are some large houses on the left and an isolated house on the right which must get wonderful views.

Looking back, Wembury is already disappearing into the haze.

The coast path heading east from Wembury

The path past here becomes a wider track and on reaching the top, at the aptly named High Cliff, I can already see down to the Yealm estuary. On the way here I’m stopped by a couple of dog walkers who seem to keen to tell me that the ferry isn’t running, presumably assuming I’m planning to cross, but I already know that but they were obviously trying to be helpful.

The River Yealm, near Wembury

A short distance ahead there is New Barton farm to the left and a little stream to cross. Heading further west I soon have a good view of the River Yealm and the edge of the village of Noss Mayo.

The River Yealm, near Wembury

The path now descends towards the river which is beautiful and unspoilt with just a few boats moored along it and wooded banks.

The River Yealm, near Wembury

Looking out to sea I can see the mouth of the river, with the waves breaking over the rocks at it’s eastern bank.

The River Yealm

I continue down towards the ferry and find back some pretty little ponies have stopped on the path. I’m always a little nervous about walking past horses in close proximity here as my mum got a nasty kick from one in the New Forest so I know they are not always as calm as they might see. Thankfully though they don’t give me any bother.

Ponies on the coast path

Soon down at the ferry quay I can look up the river to the village of Newton Ferrers. This is a lovely spot on the sheltered river with the houses tumbling down to the river. Looking right are the landing stages west of Noss Mayo but this part of the river is much less developed.

The River Yealm near Noss Mayo

The River Yealm near Noss Mayo

Soon it’s time to head back and the weather has cleared a bit, with the rain now stopped, although it is still quite misty. I can see the path snaking along the cliff top though and it’s a nice easy walk back.

The coast path approaching Wembury

Soon I am back at the village and take the zig-zag path back down to the car park.

This was a short but pleasant walk which is quite an easy wallk too. It would have been nice to see the Yealm estuary in better weather though but I suppose this is always the risk in March.

From Wembury I have a fairly short drive to the hotel I am staying at on the north edge of Plymouth. This being a walk up and back there is no need to catch a bus back to the start.

If you want to make this a linear walk, it would be possible to take the bus from Plymouth to Wembury, walk to Warren Point then take the ferry over to Noss Mayo and the bus back. Details of the ferry can be found on the South West Coast Path association website.

Here is the complete set of photos for this walk : Main Link | Details | Slideshow

This entry was posted in South Devon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

